UEFA Reveals How Clubs Will Qualify For Next Season’s Champions League


The Union of European Football Association, UEFA, has reportedly revealed that the Champions League qualification for next season will be decided on “sporting merit” in the event that the current campaign cannot be concluded due to the spread of the COVID-19 across the world.
According to The Times, the decision was made during UEFA’s crunch meeting on Thursday morning to decide the fate of the season.

The decision means the current top four teams in the Premier League, La Liga, Serie A, Bundesliga, and Ligue 1 would qualify for the 2020/20 Champions League.

This means that in the Premier League, Liverpool, Manchester City, Leicester and Chelsea would take four English spots.
UEFA’s decision would see Manchester United (5th) and Wolves (six) take the Europa League places, with Tottenham (8th) and Arsenal (9th) missing out altogether.
The European football body had suspended the Champions League, Europa League, and the European Championship play-offs indefinitely due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

No tags 0 Comments

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: